Wednesday, February 23, 2022

2023: INEC Gets Six New Commissioners (See Full List)

The Nigerian President, Major General Muhammadu Buhari (retd.), is reported to have, on Wednesday, February 23, 2022, sworn in six new Commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commission.

The event, which took place before the commencement of the Federal Executive Council virtual meeting at the Council Chamber, State House, Abuja, had Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, the President of the Senate, Ahmed Lawan, and the Speaker, House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila, in attendance, the News Agency of Nigeria reported.
The six newly inaugurated commissioners are Malam Mohammed Haruna (Niger), Mrs May Agbamuche-Mbu (Delta), Ukaegbu Nnamdi (Abia), Major General Abubakar Alkali (retd.) (Adamawa), Professor Rhoda Gumus (Bayelsa), and Mr Sam Olumekun (Ondo).

Speaking to State House correspondents after the swearing-in ceremony, INEC Chairman, Professor Mahmood Yakubu, who also witnessed the event alongside the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, Chief of Staff to the President, Professor Ibrahim Gambari, and some ministers, assured Nigerians of the Commission’s best in coming elections.

He said: “Well, it’s a good day for the Commission, with the swearing in of the six National Commissioners, we have the full complement of 12 National Commissioners.

 Promoted Content 
“It’s coming three days to by-elections in four states of the Federation and as we plan for the Ekiti and Osun governorship elections.

“As we continue to prepare for the 2023 general elections, we’ll go on firing on all cylinders now that we have the full complement of commissioners and Nigerians should expect the best out of the Commission.”


No comments:

BREAKING: Oyo Lawmaker, Hon Popoola Is Dead

Hon. Ademola Olusegun Popoola, a lawmaker representing Ibadan Southeast con...